Author Topic: I'm a race car driver!  (Read 6385 times)

Signspotter#19

• Driver
    • View Profile
I'm a race car driver!
« on: July 09, 2007, 01:16:42 PM »
You know that dream we Nascar fans have of driving a car in the Cup series? We know that it will just never happen for the majority of us. So the next best thing for those of us who have no racecar of any kind is go-cart racing.

We have a pretty cool track here in Lubbock. It has a road course with what they call Bullet cars and it has the oval track with Outlaw Style Sprint cars.  They are both really cool and fun to race on.

My first experience there, I found out just how physically demanding it really is to race and it was only a twenty-minute race. My arms felt as if they were dragging the ground. In just 20 laps, I was transformed into a gorilla! One race was just not enough. The road course was fantastic. It took me until the last lap of my last race to figure out that I donít have to push the accelerator as hard as I possibly can to make the car go fast. My right leg was absolutely exhausted by the end of that racing experience.

I am now hooked on go-cart racing. We go as often as we can afford to go. It isnít cheap, so the racing is few and far between. We even took TMS#16 racing there. Since she drives a golf cart at work as if she were in the Cup race, I figured she would blow our tires off. No, she drove like a little grandma on the interstate. Putt-putting around as if she were driving alone on a country road. She had fun though.

Last week, my brother and his family were in town visiting from Atlanta. My husband and I decided it would be fun to take them go-cart racing. It was a scream!