Author Topic: Who are you calling a redneck?  (Read 4013 times)

Signspotter#19

• Driver
    • View Profile
Who are you calling a redneck?
« on: June 17, 2007, 08:10:06 PM »
I remember when I first began watching Nascar. I frequently heard people refer to the fans as rednecks. I was confused as to why they were rednecks. I also heard jokes about rednecks and found that the general consensus was that it is just not good to be considered a redneck. I decided to look it up and see if maybe I am a redneck since I am a Nascar fan. This is the definition I found.

Red-neck  Often disparaging.
-Noun
1. An uneducated white farm laborer, esp. from the south.
2. A bigot or reactionary, esp. from rural working class
3. Also, red-necked. Narrow, prejudiced or reactionary: a redneck attitude.   

I decided to dissect this unflattering definition and see if it applies to me.

An uneducated white farm laborer, esp. from the south. Well lets see, I graduated high school and then went to nursing school and received my nursing license. I spent a lot of time on my grandfather’s farm growing up and learned a lot about farming and gardening. I was born, raised, and still live in the south. So except for the uneducated part, It does apply to me.

A bigot or reactionary, esp. from rural working class. Hummm…I had to look up reactionary to make sure what I thought it was is correct. I was wrong. The definition I found was that it is a conservative and one who does not like change. Well, I am conservative and I don’t like change. So, I guess that one applies.

Also, red-necked. Narrow, prejudiced or reactionary: a redneck attitude. I’m not prejudice. We have determined that I am a reactionary. So I guess I have only half of a redneck attitude.