Author Topic: 2017 Clash at Daytona  (Read 128 times)


  • Administrator
  • Driver
  • *****
  • Posts: 2163
  • Gas On!
    • View Profile
2017 Clash at Daytona
« on: February 14, 2017, 03:32:21 PM »
2017 Clash at Daytona

Recently known as the Sprint Unlimited and Bud Shootout, Saturday night's Clash at Daytona unofficially kicks off the 2017 NASCAR season and pays homage to the event originally known as the Busch Clash, an exciting non-points sprint race featuring an All-Star list of drivers.

Unlike previous years, the starting field for the 2017 Clash at Daytona will not be a predetermined number of cars; rather, the field is limited to drivers who meet more exclusive criteria. Drivers who were 2016 pole winners, former Clash race winners, former Daytona 500 pole winners who competed full-time in 2016 and drivers who qualified for the 2016 Chase are eligible.

Here are participating drivers, key info, statistics and TV schedule for the the Clash:

Who is driving in the Clash at Daytona?

There are 20 eligible drivers but 17 are slated to drive in the opening-night event. Greg Biffle (no ride), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (concussion, TV booth), Carl Edwards (retired) and Tony Stewart (retired) will not participate.

Daniel Suarez will drive in Edwards' place in the No. 19.

Pole winners from this past season (12)

Alex Bowman (will drive No. 88), Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Austin Dillon, Chase Elliott, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano, Martin Truex Jr.

Former Daytona 500 pole winners (1)

Danica Patrick

Remaining Chase drivers from this past season (3)

Chris Buescher, Kyle Larson, Jamie McMurray

What are the rules for the NASCAR Clash at Daytona?
The 75-lap race will be split into two segments with a competition caution at Lap 25 separating the segments.

When is the NASCAR Clash at Daytona?
The Monster Energy Cup Series Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona will be at 8 p.m. ET on Saturday, Feb. 18, and televised by Fox Sports 1.

What is the starting lineup?

A random draw will be held to determine drivers' starting positions. In past years, the crew chiefs have drawn for position.

Who are the drivers to watch in The Clash at Daytona?

Aside from Dale Earnhardt Jr., who isn't driving in the Clash due to injury concerns, Brad Keselowski, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Denny Hamlin and Martin Truex Jr. are the favorites to win on Saturday and the Daytona 500 for that matter.

Last year's exhibition winner, Hamlin, went on to beat Truex by less than six inches in the Daytona 500. Hamlin has also won the Clash in 2014 and 2006. He's proven himself as one of the best restrictor-plate racers as have Keselowski, the Busch brothers and Harvick, who also owns three Clash wins.

Don't sleep on Austin Dillon, who owns the fourth-highest average finish at Daytona the past four races and the fifth-best at restrictor-plate tracks since 2015.